You Don’t Know How to E-Mail

I’d say my biggest gripe at the office is our persistent and abundant inability to effectively communicate via e-mail.  I say “our” because I’m guilty of this, too. Two things got me thinking about this today:

  1. I received an email with a blank subject line
  2. Then I received an email sharing Erik Goodlad’s “5 min/20 Slides” presentation at Ignite Boise about managing emails

Hear me for a minute: if you’re swamped with emails, so are your co-workers, manager, and most importantly… your clients and subject matter experts.  By following some of the tips from Mike Song’s book, The Hamster Revolution, you’ll communicate better and do a better job managing your emails.

Check out Erik’s presentation, too:

  1. Curt Rozeboom
    October 28, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    OK, this was a good post, but I think someone needs to sic Dean Goodermote on this guy for poor use of power-point! Seriously, though, I think I’d like a more informative expose’ on what to do or not do from him where he doesn’t just drop half the topic. 😉

    • October 28, 2009 at 1:38 pm

      Great comment, we’ll sic Dean on him! HAHA Really tho, the point of Ignite’s 5 min/20 Slides is to just give you a taste of a topic, then resources to go learn more. I’ve put a link to The Hamster Revolution, which gets more in detail about the do’s and don’ts of email. I also have some other resources at my desk and can dig up more for anyone who wants more info! =) Thanks for commenting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

